Snow Buntings

I’ve never been too much of a songbird person, and especially not for sparrows. But if there is any one sparrow that has made me grow to like and admire that whole group of birds, it’s the Snow Bunting. When I saw my first Snow Buntings in Stratford, CT early this year, I never expected them, nor did I really care if I saw any or not. But when a flock of about 10 birds landed on a fencepost right near me, for some reason I became hooked. I took hundreds of photos of the group and had a real admiration for their hardiness, agility, and sociability. Ever since then, I’ve had more of an appreciation for all sparrow like birds. And of course, I still love seeing Snow Buntings on those rare occasions when I can.

SNBU!

I saw these Snow Buntings a few weeks go at Croton Point Park

Snow Buntings

Here is part of that fateful flock that landed in front of me in March.

Leave a comment