Coyote Controversy

I happen to love Coyotes. They’re beautiful canids that have taken on an important niche- one that was once filled by Eastern Wolves until humans came along and found it necessary to facilitate (and even encourage) aggressive eradication programs that wiped out the wolf. Now, Coyotes are here to stay, whether or not we want them to. Hating them and killing them is only cruel and ignorant. The chances of a Coyote causing any harm are next to nothing.

My advice? Enjoy Coyotes and every component of the natural community around you. Coyotes may be here to stay, but there are many other species that will only stay if we let them. Using Coyotes to help get accustomed and along with nature is one of the best things we can do at this point.

I saw this beautiful individual in northern Westchester County. I kept a respectful distance, and the Coyote even still backed off, with no intention of harming or approaching me. Enjoy the photo!

Coyote

Leave a comment