Jones Beach 12/27/14: A good “dud”

I went to Jones Beach today for a few hours in an attempt to find Northern Goshawk, Snowy Owl, Harlequin Duck, Black Scoter, and others. I say dud because I failed on all those accounts. But that doesn’t mean the birding wasn’t fun or totally worthless!

I first checked out Point Lookout in an attempt to find a Harlequin Duck. All I found were some Dunlins, 3 Horned Grebes, 4 distant Long-tailed Ducks, and a Harbor Seal. As I left, about 40 or so Common Eiders flew in. I did not check for a King.

3 Horned Grebes

The three Horned Grebes in harsh lighting.

The next stop was Jones Beach west end, which held promise for Snowy Owl and Northern Goshawk…or not.

When I first got there, I immediately saw a few Horned Larks and a distant flock of Snow Buntings.

Horned Lark in the shadows

Horned Lark

And then I saw a Red-throated Loon in the inlet, and then overhead.

RT loon

RT loon2

Red-throated Loon….a LONG overdue lifer!

The jetty was swarming with Dunlin and some Eiders flew by…but not much else. There could have been Purple Sandpiper far out on the jetty, but I wasn’t about to walk out on those slippery rocks to see. None were toward the beginning of the jetty.

Dunlins

There were probably a thousand Dunlins, as pictured above.

I then headed toward the dunes in search of the owl, but I never did see one. Just a nice, close view of the Snow Bunting flock.

Snow Buntings

Part of the Snow Bunting flock, easily 100 individuals.

But the owl was not to be found. I then checked by the water, but further down along the island and got some sea-duck action.

LTDU2

Long-tailed Duck

WWSC2

White-winged Scoter

Long-tailed Duck

Long-tailed Duck

Common Loon

Common Loon

Overall a nice day, but not what I wanted. I guess it will have to do šŸ™‚

Leave a comment